Murgatroyd wins top Ellesmere Rugby award

STAND OUT: Second-five Tim Murgatroyd won the Ellesmere senior player of the year award after a standout debut season for Prebbleton.

Tim Murgatroyd was the man of the moment at the Ellesmere rugby awards on Friday night, where he was named senior player of the year.

Murgatroyd, 25, was a stand out for Prebbleton in his first season with the club, helping them to a top four finish in the Ellesmere competition.

He was also named MVP for Ellesmere in their 35-20 win over North Canterbury in the Southbridge Shield match in

The second-five then went on to become the vice-captain of this year’s Canterbury Country team and was selected for the Canterbury development team.

Prebbleton coach Derek Todd said Murgatroyd’s organisational skills, game management and ability to produce the goods when it mattered made him stand out this year.

“To me, the thing that stands out about him is his ability to really step up in the big games. He’s a big game player,” said Todd.

Murgatroyd helped Prebbleton to one of their best seasons in recent times, which included their first win over rivals Lincoln in more than a decade.

“Prebbleton’s building really nicely for the next couple of years,” said Murgatroyd.

Staple of Murgatroyd’s rugby since his junior rugby days in North Canterbury has been playing alongside his twin brother Guy, who plays half-back for Prebbleton.

The pair also previously played together for Otago University in the Otago metro competition and in the Christ’s College first XV before moving south for university.

“(Guy) finished university the year before me and came back to Christchurch and ended up playing at Prebbleton so I kind of just followed him really,” said Murgatroyd.

The second-five didn’t expect to continue representative rugby so deep into the season. But after a string of outings for the Canterbury development team – which works as a feeder to the Canterbury Mitre 10 Cup team – he is keen to push onto even higher honours in the future.

“It’s definitely on the radar but I’ll just take it as it comes. I started this season with no intention of playing rep rugby. I just wanted to enjoy it and then one thing led to another” said Murgatroyd.

Award winners: •McLelland Memorial Cup – for good conduct: Lincoln-Springston under-13 •M K Rathgen Trophy – under-18 player of the year: Corey McKay (Prebbleton) •Gavin Eastwick Trophy – under-19 player of the year: Joe Robbins (Waihora) •D & A Harkess Trophy – colts player of the year: Sam Cottam (Lincoln) •Westpac Cup – senior player of the year: Tim Murgatroyd (Prebbleton) •Earl Browning Memorial Trophy – volunteer of the year: Phil Thomas •BNZ Trophy – personality of the year: Mark Maitland (Waihora)