CBHS take out top cricket award

WINNER: Ollie Curtis won the year 9 all-rounder award. He recently scored 120 not out against Nelson College.

Christchurch Metro Cricket held its annual youth awards ceremony at St Andrew’s College on Wednesday night.

The city’s top young players were recognised for their efforts over the past year and competition-winning teams received their trophies.

Christchurch Boys’ High School represented Canterbury on the national stage, winning the recent Secondary School Boys’ First XI Cup at Lincoln University. They collected four team awards and four individual awards at the ceremony.

Canterbury and former New Zealand age group player Theo van Woerkom was on hand to present the awards.

Youth grade competition champions

•Year 9 C grade – St Andrew’s White

•Year 9 B grade – Christ’s College B

•Year 9A one day – St Bede’s College

•Year 9A two day – St Bede’s College

•Year 10 – South West cricket

•Youth open – St Bede’s youth XI

•Second Grade Trophy – St Bede’s colts

First XI grade champions

•Bowl one day – St Bede’s second XI

•Bowl two day – St Andrew’s third XI

•Cup one day – CBHS third XI blue

•Cup two day – CBHS third XI blue

•Championship one day – CBHS first XI

•Championship two day – CBHS first XI

Year 9 individual awards


•Zak Foulkes (CBHS) – scored 316 runs at an average of 79

•Matt Boyle (St Bede’s) – scored 613 at an average of 153


•Nick Cooke (CBHS) – took 20 wickets for the season at an average of nine.

•Mason Cumming (St Bede’s) – took 16 wickets at an average of 4.9


•Ollie Curtis (CBHS) – scored 279 runs at 39.9 and took 15 wickets at 7.9


•Riley Butt (CBHS) – took 13 dismissals; eight catches and five stumping’s

Canterbury Schools 1st XI Championship:


•Liam Campbell (St Bede’s) – scored 537 runs at an average of 38


•Liam McBreen-Smith (St Andrew’s) – took 33 wickets at an average of 14.