NZ endurance final hits Ruapuna

CONTENDERS: The Carter Brother's will fancy their chances in their Mercedes AMG SLS GT3 which took out the South Island Endurance Series event at Ruapuna in October. Photo Credit: Euan Cameron

The country’s quickest GT cars will line up at Ruapuna’s Mike Pero Motorsport Park on Saturday for the New Zealand Endurance Championship

The NZ championship title will see the top cars from both the South Island endurance series and the North Island endurance Series compete in a single day, winner takes all title.

This is the second running of this format after the inaugural event was hosted at Hampton Downs last year. The two tracks have a 10-year agreement with Motorsport NZ that will see the event run in alternate islands annually.

With the top 20 cars invited from each series’ one-hour and three-hour races there is a vast array of machinery set to take to the circuit.

“Not only are there titles at stake for the big guns, but there is a NZ championship for each of the four classes we have, so rest assured that the little guys are taking this just as seriously as the big boys,” said South Island endurance series secretary Chris Dunn.

The field for the three-hour race includes Johnny McIntyre, who will be out to defend the title he won 12 months ago and will team up with Mark Gibson in the Tulloch Motorsport Camaro GT3.

Other favourites include Sam Fillmore and Danny Stutterd in a Ferrari 458 GT3, Neil Foster and Johnny Reid in an Audi R8 LMS GT3, the recently unveiled Audi R8 LMS of Simon Evans and Gene Rollinson, and the Mercedes-Benz AMG SLS GT3 piloted by Matt and Dwayne Carter.

The Carter brothers have extra reason to fancy their chances on Saturday after taking out two rounds of the South Island series, including the race at Ruapuna in October.

The one-hour race will start at 11.40am followed by the three-hour race at 2.20pm.